5 responses

Sid Chaudhry Sep 18 '13 at 11:42 AM
1
Top Response
I agree it has been happening to me. This is outrageous. I have submitted a ticket and I have decided to start a thread at all groups and let users know about this issue.
(Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
    Sid Chaudhry Sep 18 '13 at 11:45 AM
    What Mr. Caro describe is all about cookies. But over here remember the session is not the issue. The issue is how come a search from google sends data to linkedin so that it comes up as a visited profile. It is like searching something on amazon marketplace and the seller knows that you search for his product. This is sort of invasion of privacy. How would you define it a "normal operation". If it is Gmail and Google search it is acceptable becoz it is from the same company but since when two different companies started to share data to each other.
    10|2000 characters needed characters left
    Chris Barmonde Sep 22 '13 at 04:47 AM
    1
    Top Response
    If you guys are using Chrome (and possibly other browsers?), you need to realize that they prefetch the top results from Google searches so that when you navigate to the sites, they show up instantly. If you google someone and their LinkedIn profile shows up at the top and you're logged into the site, that's why it would show you as viewing their profile.

    There's an option in the Advanced settings called 'Predict network actions to improve page load performance' that you can toggle off to stop this from happening.

    This isn't anything LinkedIn is doing.
    (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
      10|2000 characters needed characters left
      Christopher Girard Feb 18 at 08:43 PM
      1
      Top Response
      What if you searched using "InPrivate Browsing" mode on Internet Explorer?
      (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
        Charles Caro Feb 18 at 09:56 PM
        @Christopher - What you suggest wouldn't help because your browser still remembers who you are and will let LinkedIn know of your comings and goings every time you load a LinkedIn webpage.
        10|2000 characters needed characters left
        Charles Caro Aug 07 '13 at 06:17 PM
        0
        Top Response
        The fact someone would register as having viewed a profile coming to the LinkedIn from a Google search doesn't surprise me at all. In fact, it would be "normal" operation. What most people don't realize is just because they leave the LinkedIn website doesn't mean their browser doesn't remember who they are when they come back to the LinkedIn website for any reason. Most (perhaps all) modern browsers will automatically "resume" a prior LinkedIn session unless the member specifically uses the "Sign Out" option.

        The same thing happens in a couple other circumstances, and those other circumstances frequently trip up LinkedIn members.

        When two members use the same computer and browser they will always complain they cannot get to their own account because the account for the other person keeps coming up instead of their account. If two people use the same computer and browser, each must always remember to "Sign Out" when ending a LinkedIn session because the browser will automatically "resume" a prior session, which may or may not be the session belonging to the person going back to the LinkedIn website.

        When a member clicks to "Accept" an invitation from their email client rather than through their LinkedIn "Inbox" and the invitation was sent to an email address not associated with the member's account they wind up creating a duplicate account. If they go to look at their profile after creating a duplicate account they will find a bare profile and they will have one and only one 1st level connection. At this point the member panics, leaves the LinkedIn website, and reloads the website only to find they still have an empty profile and only one 1st level connection. At this point they post a question to the LinkedIn Help Forum stating LinkedIn has "removed" all of their connections and profile information. A member should never "Accept" an invitation anyplace except while viewing the invitation through their LinkedIn "Inbox". If a member happens to forget and does "Accept" an invitation through their email client, they must use the "Sign Out" option before trying to login at LinkedIn again.

        Once someone has created a duplicate account it is best to simply request the accounts be merged because a part of the merge process will add the other email address to the merged accounts. If someone opts to close the duplicate account, they still must figure out how to add the email address to the account.
        (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
          10|2000 characters needed characters left
          Douglas Edwards Sep 24 '13 at 05:00 PM
          0
          Top Response
          Yes it's a problem. Based on testing in IE over the last 30 days, Linked in allows a full http cached display of most all the stored (secured) linked in user's profile content and users past jobs if your NOT logged in. This is prefetch as described above. Then if you log in to linked in the content is hidden if your not connected. This should be secured content but it is not before login. LInked in may want to just contact google search settings to block this behavior (not cache) and/or linked in can convert the http non secured pages to display to then force HTTPS or SSL and this would also fix the problem.

          Once they go SSL.

          This may slow down the linked in cloud hosting to always require or 'force' https instead of http. The overhead would not get bogged down if linked uses SSL off load hardware acceleration servers. The rest of the web works this way.
          (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
            10|2000 characters needed characters left
            10|0 characters needed