1 response

Charles Caro May 19 '13 at 10:43 PM
0
Top Response
At some point in the recent past your friend opened their email address book to LinkedIn for the purpose of sending out invitations and they clicked to proceed with the operation before they fully read and understood what was about to happen.

In opening their email address book to LinkedIn without fully reading the instructions they explicitly allowed LinkedIn to send an invitation to *every* email address stored in their email address book. Many email clients default to automatically saving the email address from every message received, which is all too frequently unknown by the user.

LinkedIn not only sent an invitation to each of the email addresses in their email address book but also LinkedIn will send out two (2) invitation reminders to each email address in their email address book.

The *only* way they can stop the invitation reminders from going out is by going to their LinkedIn "Inbox/Invitations/Sent" folder where they must open each pending invitation and click on the "Withdraw" option. This must be done for each pending invitation on a one-by-one basis.

While it is true LinkedIn Customer Service can do the "withdraw" procedure with fewer keystrokes than a member it is important to remember it now takes LinkedIn Customer Service staffers at least 7-10 days to get to and process any service ticket, and all service tickets are handled on a strict FIFO basis regardless of where the service ticket originates. In the meantime LinkedIn will continue to send out the reminder invitations, and the recipients will have additional opportunity to respond to the invitation(s) by clicking on the "Report Spam" or "I Don't Know" options, which will ultimately lead to your account being restricted.

There two (2) very important reasons why they should start the process now as follows:

1. LinkedIn affords each LinkedIn member with only 3,000 invitations, which are supposed to last the member a lifetime. The "Withdraw" process will stop the automatic reminders from going out to recipients, which should relieve some of the embarrassment associated with sending out the invitations, but the "withdraw" feature does not "recover" the invitations for future use. They are gone.

2. The recipients of those errant invitations have the opportunity to click on either the "I Don't Know" or spam option when the invitation lands in their inbox. Getting just five (5) "I Don't Know" or spam responses will put your account on restriction, which means you will not be able to send out any invitation without entering the email address of the recipient. They can, of course, appeal to have the restriction lifted by sending a sincere message to LinkedIn Customer Service explaining that you did not know what you were doing and that they will *never* again send out an invitation to someone you don't know.
(Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
    10|2000 characters needed characters left
    10|0 characters needed