15 responses

Margaret A Ost Jan 23 at 03:48 AM
1
Top Response
AUGUST 2014
REMOVING CONNECTIONS.

1) CONNECTIONS on toolbar
Search for person
check box for person
MORE while in the person's record.
REMOVE CONNECTION

2) Go to PROFILE of person you want to REMOVE.
Next to SEND MESSAGE click arrow (triangle)
REMOVE CONNECTION is one choice in drop down menu for me,

3) After signing in, this gives you a choice to REMOVE MULTIPLE CONNECTIONS.
http://www.linkedin.com/people/conn-break-selection

4) Using a person's profile number, see page 2 post:
http://community.linkedin.com/questions/26238/remove-connections-1.html?page=2&pageSize=10&sort=votes

You must 1) REMOVE a ENDORSEMENT, THEN 2) REMOVE A CONNECTION.
If you do not do number 1 first, you yourself can't remove the endorsement.
(Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
    Melissa Budzinski Jan 24 at 02:21 PM
    Once you remove a connection do the endorsements you may have given a person get deleted as well? If not how do you delete endorsements you have given others? Thanks!!
    Margaret A Ost Aug 21 at 01:19 PM
    You must 1) REMOVE a ENDORSEMENT, THEN 2) REMOVE A CONNECTION.
    If you do not do number 1 first, you yourself can't remove the endorsement.
    10|2000 characters needed characters left
    Manuel Zapata Jun 03 '13 at 09:27 PM
    0
    Top Response
    If I go to a person's profile, it says there that we are connected, but when I search for her as you mentioned, I do not find her, so I cannot select her to be removed. Any other suggestions? ,If I go to a person's profile, it says there that we are connected, but when I search for her as you mentioned, I do not find her, so I cannot select her to be removed. Any other suggestions?
    (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
      10|2000 characters needed characters left
      Manuel Zapata Jun 04 '13 at 01:21 PM
      0
      Top Response
      Ah! The second one worked:

      Go to PROFILE of person.
      Next to SEND MESSAGE click arrow.
      REMOVE CONNECTION is one choice in drop down menu.

      Thanks Margaret!
      (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
        10|2000 characters needed characters left
        Myles coker Nov 26 '13 at 08:52 AM
        0
        Top Response
        It would seem I have non of the above options above.
        (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
          10|2000 characters needed characters left
          Jennifer Bramlette, PMP Jan 22 at 08:43 PM
          0
          Top Response
          Not one of those work. Seriously. This is a problem.
          (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
            Manuel Zapata Jan 22 at 09:10 PM
            Do you mean that when you go to one of your connection's profile, and you hover the mouse pointer over the arrow right next of the "Send a message" blue button under the person's name, the option to Remove Connection does not appear on the drop-down that opens up? I just checked and it is there.
            Jennifer Bramlette, PMP Jan 22 at 11:29 PM
            This is all I see when I hover on the triangle next to "send a message" in the unwanted connection's profile:
            Suggest an update
            Recommend
            Endorse skills and expertise
            Find references
            Share profile
            Save profile
            Export to PDF
            Flag as inappropriate.

            No other options and no option to remove.
            Manuel Zapata Jan 23 at 01:20 AM
            That is odd. Some of the options you mention are different from the ones I see in IE, Firefox and Chrome on Win7. What browser and OS/platform are you using?
            Margaret A Ost Aug 21 at 01:23 PM
            Use http://help.linkedin.com/app/ask

            If nothing works
            10|2000 characters needed characters left
            Anita Garrett-Roe Jan 23 at 12:38 AM
            0
            Top Response
            This is terrible. I do not want to use this service if I cannot get rid of someone who is in here that I do not want! What are we going to do??
            (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
              10|2000 characters needed characters left
              Jennifer Bramlette, PMP Jan 23 at 08:59 AM
              0
              Top Response
              Finally!! I was able to grab the link you put in #3 and it worked.

              Very very weird that I couldn't do it any other way, and I can't get back to that page on my own.

              Thank you!!!
              (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
                10|2000 characters needed characters left
                Schimen-Renee' Scott Jan 23 at 02:50 PM
                0
                Top Response
                Thanks, Maragret. The first option you have listed (network on toolbar) worked!
                (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
                  Margaret A Ost Aug 21 at 01:20 PM
                  1) CONNECTIONS on toolbar
                  Search for person
                  check box for person
                  MORE while in the person's record.
                  REMOVE CONNECTION

                  Is how it looks now, August 2014.
                  10|2000 characters needed characters left
                  Beverly Purdy Jan 23 at 02:54 PM
                  0
                  Top Response
                  Does a message or notification go out if you disconnect a contact?
                  (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
                    Margaret A Ost Aug 21 at 01:24 PM
                    No, it doesn't but they may notice if they look for you in their connections.
                    10|2000 characters needed characters left
                    Margaret A Ost Jan 23 at 03:39 PM
                    0
                    Top Response
                    No, the connection is NOT notified.
                    If they look for you, they will no longer see you as a first degree connection showing a "1" so will know they were removed, but there is no message sent to them.

                    "Note: You can also remove individual connections from the Contacts page by clicking More under their name and selecting Remove Connection. Connections you remove will no longer be a 1st-degree connection to you and they will no longer appear in your Contacts section. They will not be notified that they have been removed. Only the member that breaks the connection can reinitiate that connection."
                    (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
                      10|2000 characters needed characters left
                      10|0 characters needed