2 responses

Charles Caro Dec 20 '13 at 06:53 PM
1
Top Response
At some point in the recent past you either opened or "synced" your email address book to LinkedIn for the purpose of sending out invitations and you clicked to proceed with the operation before you fully read and understood what was about to happen.

In opening your email address book to LinkedIn without fully reading the instructions you explicitly allowed LinkedIn to send an invitation to *every* email address stored in your email address book. Many email clients default to automatically saving the email address from every message received, which is all too frequently unknown by the user.

LinkedIn not only sent an invitation to each of the email addresses in your email address book but also LinkedIn will send out two (2) invitation reminders to each email address in your email address book.

If you have any doubt regarding whether or not the invitations came from your account take a look at your "pending" invitations. Click on the "Inbox" link at the top of your LinkedIn homepage. Then click the "Invitations" tab and finally the "Sent" link appearing to the left side of the screen. You will see a list of all of the invitations sent through your account. If you don't see an "Accepted" associated with the message, it is a "pending" invitation, which you can open and use the "withdraw" feature. The only way an invitation gets into the "Inbox/Invitations/Sent" folder is when the member authorizes the invitation to be sent, and that can happen only when the member provides their email password to LinkedIn. LinkedIn has absolutely no way of accessing a member's email address book unless the member gives LinkedIn access. You may not recognize all of the names on the invitations because the "default" setting for most email clients is to "save" the email address for *all* inbound messages regardless of whether or not the user "replies" or moves the message to the "junk" folder. The whole "open your email address book" feature is seriously flawed in its design and implementation, but ultimately once the invitations go out it is the member's problem.

The *only* way you can stop the invitation reminders from going out is by going to your LinkedIn "Inbox/Invitations/Sent" folder where you must open each pending invitation and click on the "Withdraw" option. This must be done for each pending invitation on a one-by-one basis.

While it is true LinkedIn Customer Service can do the "withdraw" procedure with fewer keystrokes than a member it is important to remember it now takes LinkedIn Customer Service staffers up to 7-10 days to get to and process any service ticket, and all service tickets are handled on a strict FIFO basis regardless of where the service ticket originates. In the meantime LinkedIn will continue to send out the reminder invitations, and the recipients will have additional opportunity to respond to the invitation(s) by clicking on the "Report Spam" or "I Don't Know" options, which will ultimately lead to your account being restricted.
(Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
    10|2000 characters needed characters left
    Sarah Foster Feb 03 at 11:10 AM
    0
    Top Response
    I've had the same problem. One invitation was even sent to a complete stranger who is not in my email contacts and has never emailed me. This could only happen if there was something going wrong with LinkedIn. Please ask before sending invitations purporting to be from me, as an email, once sent, cannot be unsent. Also, please make it easier and quicker to withdraw these. It is ridiculous that we have to do one at a time and each time it then navigates away from the page. How about removing the facility to send invitations to everyone in our email contacts, or at least making it require two or three steps with clear warnings?
    (Comments are locked) Sign in to comment More
      10|2000 characters needed characters left
      10|0 characters needed